Big Bash Cricket Betting

Bet On The Big BashThe Big Bash league is not well known in the UK, but is actually an extremely exciting cricket league based in Australia featuring eight teams. The league is a Twenty20 league, which opens up all kinds of betting opportunities, as statistics is everything in Twenty20 cricket, as well as a great deal of luck.

For those who don’t know, Twenty20 cricket is where each team only gets 20 overs in which to build their innings score, so the action is fast and furious with the emphasis on hitting fours and sixes, hence the name “big bash”!

#1 Big Bash League Betting Site –£200 Welcome Bonus!

Bet365 is in our opinion the best Big Bash betting site. At Bet365 you can place bets on all Australian sports, and there are numerous options to explore. If you are really dedicated and fancy staying awake for when the matches are played, you can also bet ‘in play’, meaning you can place bets on a number of different markets within each match while the game is being played. Typically there can be up to 20 different betting markets in play for each Big Bash League match, so there are always plenty of options.

If staying up to silly hours in the morning doesn’t suit you, you can also place bets on the Big Bash using your Smartphone. Bet365’s Smartphone apps allow you to conduct all your betting from your phone, enabling you to keep track wherever you are. So if you want you can place a bet from your computer and take your phone with you, and check it later, or when you get up in the morning you can.

In addition to all of this, Bet365 really shines when it comes to customer service. If you have a problem with your betting account, or need some advice, you can call Bet365 using their 24/7 helpline of email them.

Plus they give all new customers a £200 FREE BET bonus when they join and with that offer available how can we not make them our best Big Bash betting site.

History of the Big Bash League and Past Winners

The Big Bash League is a relatively new league; the first tournament was played in 2011-2012. Since there are only eight teams, the league is relatively short and consists of a number of round robin matches, followed by knockout finals. The first winner of the Big Bash League was the Sydney Sixers. Naturally in Australia gambling is popular and Big Bash betting seems to have really taken off.

Before the Big Bash League existed, six teams used to compete in the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash, which was a different league altogether. The six teams were made up from one team from each Australian state, and were named after the State’s capital cities. This original Twenty20 tournament completed six seasons before it was reincarnated into the current Big Bash League. Of the original six teams, the Victorian Bushrangers (representing Victoria) won the league four times out of six. The other two winners were New South Wales and South Australia.

In its new format, the eight teams are made up of eight privately owned teams. Adelaide, Brisbane, Hobart and Perth each have one team each, with Melbourne and Sydney both having two. Future expansion of the league is to include teams from Canberra, Geelong, the Gold Coast and Newcastle. With cricket becoming ever more popular in Australia, especially the Twenty20 format, the Big Bash League is likely to be around for some time and betting on the Big Bash will undoubtedly grow in popularity around the world.

Upcoming Dates for The Big Bash League

The Big Bash League only runs throughout December and January, and consists of 31 matches. The next season is due to begin in December 2012, although it’s uncertain at the moment how many teams will participate. Depending on whether arrangements can be made for four extra teams, there could be either 8 or 12 teams participating in the 2012 season. Big Bash betting markets for the new league will only be finalised once all participants are decided upon.

The 2011 season proved to be very exciting for bettors as the results of each match were all very close and a never a certainty. This meant there was a lot of opportunity for in-play Big Bash betting and many markets that gave good value. The 2012 should prove to be just as interesting.

Hide me
Enter email to claim £200 free + exclusive £10 no deposit free bet!
  Name: Email:
Show me